Motionless

de Alexandra Brojbeanu


I light my cigarette. Nothing’s moving around me except the smoke which slowly disappears in the cold air, vanishing like a bad dream… It invades my lungs, it fills every cell of my body with a strange and comfortable numbness.  Complete silence. I can’t even hear the clock ticking, only my eyes keep moving, staring at hidden stories written on the white, cold walls. I don’t even know where I am, and I don’t need to . No mirrors, no reflections, no distorted images reflected on broken pieces of glass. It’s just  like taking the hand of the person you used to be and go for a walk…

Complete freedom.

How come we never stop to stare for a second at what we are? At what we have become? We fight to become someone,  but somewhere on the road we lose our identity, we forget who we used to be, so at the end of the journey we don’t recognize ourselves anymore, we’re just a body with someone else’s soul in it. Complete strangers with who we were once.

I refuse to do the same thing. I want to be able to say that I have reached my destination with a soul, that I haven’t sold it in exchange for something I never wanted. I just want my soul to be happy. And I know just how to do it. Time is on my side, I’m on the right track. But just give me a motionless second…